June 24, 2009

The Best Homemade Playdough Recipe EVER

Posted in Days of my life at 12:23 PM by Robin

You gotta love the life of a stay-at-home mom.  Sometimes there is time–too much time–for introspection and reflection on the deeper things of life, and there is time to write long, deep-thinking posts about these things. Other times, all you can think about is “What can I do to keep these kids busy and out of my hair long enough for me to take a shower?” If you haven’t guessed, summer vacation is upon us, and I definitely fall into the latter category right now.  I have felt guilty for being unable to post very often lately (although I do have time to check in on Facebook a couple of times a day–that takes a lot less effort! So, if you miss me, you can find me there!), so I thought I’d take just a second to share with you all one method of keeping the kids busy.

My mom used to make homemade playdough for us pretty frequently, but it was always full of salt and consequently very rough and scratchy.  Plus, it dried out and got crumbly very quickly. Store-bought play-doh isn’t much better. Happily for me, I found this awesome recipe online somewhere. It is smooth, easy to kead and mold, and doesn’t dry for days! We left a whole pile out overnight without a cover, and the next day the top was kind of dry, but we kneaded it up a bit and it was just fine again.  This stuff kept all three of my kids occupied for three days solid–even the ten-year-old! We made it like two weeks ago and it is still sitting in my fridge, wrapped in plastic wrap.  We haven’t pulled it out in a few days, but it still feels fairly soft to the touch.  I’m not sure if playdough can spoil–it never usually lasts long enough to find out!  Anyway, great stuff, give it a try, then sneak off and take a really long shower.play_dough_color

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In a large saucepan, mix together

3 cups Flour

1 1/2 cups Salt

3 cups Water

2 TB vegetable oil (I used canola, I’m sure it doesn’t matter)

1 TB Cream of Tartar

Food coloring or unsweetened Kool-Aid pkg for color.

Cook over medium-low heat, stirring frequently, until the dough pulls away from the sides of the pan and gets too thick to stir (about 10-15 minutes). Remove from heat and let cool until it can be handled. Place on counter or wax paper and knead several times until smooth. Store in an air-tight container.

I haven’t tried cooking this yet, but if you try it, let me know how it works!

5 Comments

  1. kira said,

    you gotta love play dough!

  2. Vicki said,

    Cool recipe! That’s pretty amazing that the kids were entertained for so long–magic stuff.

  3. Adam said,

    I haven’t tried this exact recipe, but I have made one similar, except its the no cook version. So you add boiling water instead of over a saucepan.

    The playdough is great and lasts for month.

    It certainly smells better than the plastic store bought playdough.

  4. Casey said,

    You can use less salt, 1 cup is fine. And yes, it does keep for months!

  5. Kristy said,

    Me and a couple friends are starting a bookclub. It’s more of a serious academic study kind of thing. I thought of you…would you be interested? If so, email me at littlekristy2@juno.com and I’ll send you the mission statement and bylaws so you can see if it’s something you’d really be interested in. We’d love to have you! I hope you get this comment! Maybe I’ll just call you…
    Kristy


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

